Jury Committee Members of the 11th UNWTO Awards

The Jury Committee of the 11th UNWTO Awards is composed of international experts, academicians and practitioners. Here are a few members of the Jury Committee:

 Chris Cooper, Professor, Oxford Brookes University

Chris Cooper is Professor in the Business Faculty at Oxford Brookes University, UK. He was Chair of the World Tourism Organization Education Council (2005 – 2007) and was awarded the UNWTO Ulysses Prize for contributions to tourism education and policy. He co-edits Current Issues in Tourism and sits on editorial boards for leading tourism, hospitality and leisure journals. He has authored a number of leading textbooks and is the co-series editor of Channelview’s influential book series ‘Aspects of Tourism’.

 Olivier Henry-Biabaud, CEO, TCI Research

Olivier founded TCI Research in 2010. With a master’s degree in Marketing Research & Strategy (Paris Dauphine University, Sciences-Po Paris), he has a 20 year experience in market research in global companies (TNS, Ipsos) acting in senior operational and management positions based in various locations. As specialist in destination competitiveness using traditional surveys and targeted Big Data analytic, he has been in charge of large-scale research programs measuring tourists' experience and satisfaction for over 70+ countries, regions, cities and international tourism organizations in Europe, Americas, Oceania, Africa and Middle-East. Under Olivier leadership, TCI research won the 2011 UNWTO Innovation Award in the “Enterprise” category for its TravelSat Competitive Index benchmarking program that has set a global standard for evaluating destinations' quality performances based on visitors' experience. He is a regular speaker in international forums about tourism competitiveness and Board Member of the TTRA Europe Chapter.


  Hannah R. Messerli, PHD, The World Bank

Hannah Messerli is dedicated to utilizing tourism as an economic development tool for emerging economies. Currently as a Senior Private Sector Development Specialist in Tourism at the World Bank, Dr. Messerli supports government initiatives to develop private sector capacity in tourism across the 47 countries of Sub Saharan Africa. With more than 15 years of experience in the public and private sectors focusing on tourism planning and development, she has worked in Asia, Africa, Europe, and the Americas. As an analyst and tourism product development specialist, she has focused in particular on cultural heritage and nature-based tourism in emerging economies.

Her professional background includes serving as a faculty member at New York University and operations consulting with hotel and tourism companies globally while based in Singapore, Australia and Indonesia. Hannah has completed masters’ degrees in hotel administration at Cornell University and tourism planning at The George Washington University. Her doctorate in tourism planning and development was also completed at Cornell University.


 Andrés Pan de Soraluce, Chairman and CEO, OHL Desarrollos

Degree in Law and a MBA by IESE. He is Chairman and CEO of OHL Desarrollos, division of the OHL Group specialized in the investment, development, operation and management of hotels and tourist resorts and real estate, particularly in the premium sector.  Owner and operator of Mayakoba, a renowned and unique resort in the world, located at Playa del Carmen consisting of 250 hectares, with 3 top range and ranked hotels and the unique golf course El Camaleón, the only course outside the United States of America and Canada part of the PGA tournament. Under his leadership, OHL is developing Ciudad Mayakoba, consisting of a 408 hectares for multi-segment real estate, with licences to develop over 17,000 units. The project is being developed under high standards of sustainability and planning.

Mr. Pan de Soraluce is also co-investor and developer of the Canalejas Project, one of the largest hotel and real estate projects in Spain, for  its symbolic nature, technical complexity and investment volume. The project consists in the acquisition of 7 buildings of extraordinary historical and architectural value in the heart of Madrid, covering over 70,000sqm, which will be transformed into the first Four Seasons hotel in Spain, 30 branded residences, an exclusive shopping centre and a car park. 


  Tej Vir Singh, Editor-in-chief, Tourism Recreation Research

Tej Vir Singh is Professor and founding Director of the Centre for Tourism Research & Development (CTRD), Lucknow, India. He is also Founder Editor of the Centre’s international journal Tourism Recreation Research. He was founder director of the Institute of Himalayan Studies and Regional Development at the University of Garhwal (1977-88) and started the first tourism training course over the Himalaya. A specialist in Himalayan Tourism, Dr. Singh has produced about two dozen books on tourism and many technical papers on tourism development and impacts; his recent work is ‘Critical Debates in Tourism’, published by Channel View Publications, UK (2012). He was Senior Fellow Ford Foundation at ICIMOD, Kathmandu (1988). Dr. Singh is a fellow of the International Academy for the Study of Tourism (since 1989). He has consulted for the UNEP and also represented UNEP at the ESCAP Conference on Sustainable Tourism Development in LDCs, Pattaya (October 1992). He was also Asia member of Rockefeller Foundation workshop on Ecotourism (1993). He is Associate Editor of Encyclopedia of Tourism being published by Springer (2014). He was awarded, lifetime honorary Professorship for his outstanding contribution in Tourism Academics and Research by Bundelkhand University, Jhansi, India (2002). Dr Singh has been awarded UNWTO Ulysses Prize for the year 2013 for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Tourism Knowledge.